toys

15 August 2010

I could easily get into making toys. They’re so cute! They’re so quick! They’re so easy! It’s like being a kid again.

:: Kiwi ::

:: Pattern :: Crazy kiwis from Bittersweet.

:: Materials :: Lincraft Celtic and Cleckheaton Country yarn, buttons for eyes.

:: Modifications :: I used DK yarn for the beak and kegs.  I picked up stitches round the face for the beak, and decreased after a few rows. I also use some short rows to make the beak curve.

:: Rabbit ::

:: Pattern :: Softies.

:: Modifications :: Almost none – I filled the base with rice as suggested, to make the rabbit stand upright, and I added an internal rattle.

:: Materials :: All from the scrap bag – denim, unbleached calico, cotton poplin.

Tip: a really easy way to make a rattle to go in a toy – use the little plastic container that comes inside a Kinder Surprise egg, and put a bead in it.

4 Responses to “toys”

  1. Kim said

    While I think I have already abused my free knitting this year, Sarah would LOVE some icecream cones…

    http://whipup.net/2010/08/13/knit-some-icecream/

  2. Bells said

    too cute. I’ve only made one toy but I think there are more ideas to explore – I’m keen to try a sewn one too with a rattle!

  3. Emma said

    The kiwi is awesome!

    Good idea for the rattle too, must keep that in mind the next time I try to justify the purchase of a Kinder Surprise.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

