let’s fly

9 June 2011

One of my recurring themes is the project that is 99 per cent finished then languishes long because there is something that needs to be fixed that I don’t get around to doing.

This cape is the perfect example. It was 99 per cent finished in July last year, and I had a great time making it. The fabric (a beautiful thrifted wool that I was given by Sally) was a dream to work with.

I made welted pockets and sewed the button holes by hand.

And then I discovered that I had screwed up the lining. I trimmed it too short, then didn’t fix it properly to the hem (read, I was too lazy to do it properly), and surprise surprise, it looked terrible.

After 8 months, I gritted my teeth, cut out the lining, and made a new one, and this time fixed it to the hem properly. It wasn’t perfect, but it was better. And as soon as I wore it, I loved it.

It’s warm and stylish, perfect for cycling (wind-proof but leaves arms free, and no sweaty underarms). Perfect for walks in the woods. Perfect enough.

Details

:: fabric :: thrifted and gifted 100% wool herringbone

:: pattern :: lindsey from BurdaStyle

:: modifications :: added welt pockets and changed the angle.

5 Responses to “let’s fly”

  1. Emma said

    Oh my, that is one beautiful cape. The fabric, the buttons, everything. Love it!

  2. Kelly said

    I love it too. It’s absolutely beautiful… and welcome back. :)

  3. Sally said

    Very nice – glad the fabric finally got put to good use!

  4. Nichola said

    LOVE your cape! I bought some green wool the other day with the intention of making one.

  5. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so
    much, However I am going through issues with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why
    I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having similar RSS problems?
    Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

