Granny Squares Galore

3 January 2006


I started making this rug in 2001 when an epidemic of crocheting and knitting went round my workplace (big shout out to Broges, who taught me to crochet!). Originally I was going to make a vest, but that was too complicated so I switched to a rug. I did want the rug to be double bed sized but the dark brown wool was discontinued so I had to size the rug to suit the number of brown squares I had.

The wool is Jo Sharp 8-ply, and the colours are Cherry (309), Cape (508), Linen (335) and Khaki (329 – discontinued). Lovely and soft and workable as this wool is, if I was starting again I would use something cheaper.

The rug was finished in 2004. If I’d known then how to join the squares by crochet (instead of stiching them by hand), it may have been done sooner.

Leave a Reply

