I’ve been shopping…

27 January 2006


As my crafty co-bloggers know, my old sewing machine(that’s it on the right) died just before Christmas. It had been slowly declining, first refusing to do zig zag, then losing all control in the pedal (ie, can sew at verybloodyfast or not at all), then having occasional bouts of random tension problems and finally refusing to do anything other than gobble expensive fabric into the feed-dogs until no more would fit, snapping the needle and resentfully regurgitating the ruined fabric only when threatened with a screw driver. I don’t know how it knew the difference between expensive fabric and cheap stuff, but it did, and it never ate cheap fabric. Kind of like a poverty-stricken but snobbish elderly relative.

Any-WAY: Thanks to the generosity of my Ma, I now have a shiny new machine (left). It goes forwards and backwards and does buttonholes all by itself and has eleventy-gazillion stitches which I’ll probably never use, and it threads its own needles.

And it came with a $50 fabric voucher at Tessuti, which, totalfavouritefabricshopintheWORLD, I promptly spent on these:

The green one will soon be a pretty summer dress (hopefully before summer ends), the stripes will be wear-to-work pants and the brown and orange I don’t know but I’m open to suggestions. It’s very very light cotton. Ideas?

One Response to “I’ve been shopping…”

  1. Sponky said

    eWhat bodacious curves your new sewing machine has!

    Now I want a new one. However, since my existing machine is ‘perfectly serviceable’ (and is now working pretty well since it’s last service) I will have to live without fancyiness for the time being. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

