shop till you stop

31 July 2007

sewingbooks

A little celebration today: I made it through two months of Wardrobe Refashion! (Which, for those who don’t know, is a pledge to abstain from purchasing new mass-produced clothing. Thrifted, refashioned and handmade clothing only, for two, four or six months – see here for more details).

It was quite an enlightening experience, not shopping. A few days before starting Wardrobe Refashion, I ran round the shops every lunch time, thinking “must buy something, because I can’t for TWO WHOLE MONTHS from 1 June. Must buy!”. On 1 June, it felt like a burden lifted from my shoulders. I had time to go to the park or the art gallery at lunchtimes. I didn’t feel obliged to check out the yearly June/July sales so that I could ‘save’ by spending money on things I don’t need. I didn’t have to fret about this season’s fashion not suiting me. I wasn’t emerging dishevelled and depressed from the changing room, feeling inadequate because my hips never fit into pants, no matter what the label.

I’m aspiring to textures and fabrics and cuts rather than brands and prices. When a piece of clothing in a shop catches my eye, I tend to see how it could be improved, copied, changed into something else, something better, something that will match my brown skirt, somthing that could feature those vintage buttons I’ve been saving. Browsing the crafty blogs fills me with more ideas; and I’m starting to wonder if there’ll ever be enough time to make all the things I want to.

I feel more confident with my sewing skills. I feel happier with my style. I feel happier with my body.
And I’ve started coming out of the crafty closet.
Hello. It’s nice to meet you.

One Response to “shop till you stop”

  1. congrats on your 2 months! i’m not in wardrobe refashion, but am still trying to get comfortable with sewing. your posts have been a true inspiration!

Leave a Reply

