i am growling…

28 October 2007

growling

…because

  • my neighbours had a party last night and their taste in music is both loud and banal.
  • daylight saving has taken an hour out of my weekend.
  • I tried to buy a bra today and could not find one that wasn’t padded; and why the hell don’t all the lingerie shops just put a big sign out front saying “hey lady!  no matter who you are your boobs are the wrong shape!  yes!  you need to buy our padded strap-on foam boobs or your boobs will cause the end of civilisation as we know it!
  • said bra shopping expedition meant going into a shopping centre, and I don’t go into shopping centres much any more, and I seem to have lost my immunity to them because it made me feel v e r y-v e r y-t e n s e.
  • the skirt I’ve been making is too big and not A-line enough and is going to have to be unpicked and re-cut.
  • I can never ever get sleeves on a home sewn top to sit properly – they always lift up the whole top when I raise my arm and I don’t know if this is just me or something wrong with the pattern and I don’t know how to fix it.
  • it’s almost impossible to buy moisturiser with sunscreen in it, which when you live in the country with the highest rate of skin cancer in the world would seem kind of obvious; and companies are allowed to sell ‘anti-ageing’ moisturisers without sunscreen in them, when all the evidence points to the fact that UV is the single biggest cause of skin damage.

On the other hand, I did make quite a nice apple cake yesterday.  Let’s contemplate its beauty, and maybe the crankiness will go away.

applecake

An ordinary butter cake, with 1 teaspoon of mixed spice added with the flour; topped with three chopped apples and sprinkled with a tablespoon of sugar and another 2 teaspoons of spice.

6 Responses to “i am growling…”

  1. janelledunstan said

    I agree. The beginning of daylight savings brings much grumpiness in my house.

  2. JenaVeve said

    Yep (this is a massive pet peeve of my own) – the only moisturiser I can suggest with sunscreen that is halfway decent for the face is the Dove Tinted SPF15 from supermarkets (Coles, Safeway) so you probably know of this one. Not sure of any good body ones that aren’t jam-packed with petroleum-based nasties though.

    Agreed – it’s just not good enough that the standards and care factor are set so low by the industry for our Aussie conditions. Should at the very least be able to buy semi-chemical free moisturiser with 30+ for the face that doesn’t leave you feeling like you’re wearing an oil slick… makes you wonder.

    Love the cake!

  3. greenolive said

    at least your skirt wasn’t too small as invariably happens to me! Can’t unpick and re-cut then.

  4. Laurie said

    Re: sleeves lifting the entire top up when you raise your arms….**

    Not you. Nope, no way, no how. TOTALLY a pattern problem. 😦 😛 The problem is that most armscyes are cut too low and with a high sleeve cap. This makes the shirt/jacket/whatever look REALLY nice when it’s on you, since there isn’t extra fabric anywhere, but it does restrict the available range of motion to one degree or another. The closer the pattern gets to being a true T-shape, the more range of motion you will have, BUT you will eventually start to get a fold of fabric along the front armscye as the extra sleeve fabric folds over.

    Make any sense? I could send a picture, possibly, if necessary.

    There are two ways of fixing this:
    1) Get a pattern where the arm hole is cut higher, but the sleeve cap is still relatively high. As I understand it, European patterns are more likely to have that shape. There is an old issue of Threads Magazine that goes into altering an existing pattern to do that, but I don’t have the issue in front of me and can’t remember the number. 😦 You can probably find it on their website, at least the issue number.

    2) Add a gusset — a little football shaped piece of fabric between the armscye seam and the underarm part of the sleeve. How big of one you add depends on how much movement you want/need vs. where the gusset will start to show when your arm is down. In theory (!!! 😉 when your arm is down, the gusset folds up into your underarm and is pretty much invisible. If you make it too long, it may show from under your arm. Size is found by trial and error, but 4 inches by 2 inches cut into a pointy oval/American football shape is a good place to start.

    Please feel free to e-mail me if you’d like pictures or more explanations or anything. I’m a professional custom seamstress/alterationist, and I am TOTALLY happy to give advice and encouragement to people sewing their own stuff. The more of us that sew, the more the good fabric shops will stay open and get in cool fabric. 🙂

    ** Hoping you get this since I just stumbled on here from Wardrobe Refashion, and it’s 11/13 here in the USA, and I don’t know if you’ll check comments on old posts. So here goes.

  5. estaki said

    i know of a couple of excellent Aussie made moisturisers with great suncreen in them that are realitvely inexpensive and gorgeous to put on. Email me if you would like to know more! I use them because I get pigmentation on my face from the sun 😦

  6. Dew said

    My solution to the too-big skirt might also solve some of the crankiness: eat the whole apple cake!!!

Leave a Reply

