friday five

23 November 2007

 smugbagsiii

:: smug bags, presents for friends on sunday

Today’s friday five is the “breathe in – breathe out” edition, because I have a severe case of election anxiety.

  1. 10 simple ways to save yourself from messing up your life
  2. office yoga
  3. how’s the serenity?
  4. pills to make you happy
  5. “… not putting an extra sixpence into somebody’s pocket, or making somebody Prime Minister or Premier, but  a movement bringing something better to the people, better standards of living, greater happiness to the mass of the people. We have a great objective – the light on the hill – which we aim to reach by working the betterment of mankind not only here but anywhere we may give a helping hand.”

For those of you not in Australia, we’re having an election here tomorrow.  We have had an ultra-conservative government for 11 years, and there is a real chance that tomorrow, the government will change.

I want it to change.  For selfish reasons (my career options are somewhat limited under the current government’s policies), and other reasons, like social justice and the importance of looking after the planet.

I have a nice bottle of wine for tomorrow night, and a box of tissues and a slab of chocolate, just in case.  Whichever way it goes, the world will still keep turning, and I’ll still be off to a beach picnic on Sunday to farewell some dear friends.

I hope your weekend is everything you hope for too.

8 Responses to “friday five”

  1. Carson said

    Oh those smug, smug bags! Love! Cool colours; very nice.
    I just got back from voting and as I was leaving the primary school with my two dogs in tow I was asked: …
    “Did they vote too”?
    I wish they could (imagine that!) We’re in a pretty safe non-conservative Seat here, but I feel like we could use all the extra votes we can get!
    *fingers crossed*

  2. Sally said

    I apologise in advance if it’s against your blog religion but you’ve been tagged… http://djbebe.blogspot.com/2007/11/eek-ive-been-tagged-by-mel.html

  3. Beth said

    The bags look great. What lucky friends!

  4. greenolive said

    I live the fabric you have used. Its looks vintage. And aren’t we all glad things turned out ok on Saturday!

  5. greenolive said

    I love the fabric you have used. Its looks vintage. And aren’t we all glad things turned out ok on Saturday!

  6. pintoo said

    I love the fabric used. its perfect

  7. […] One of my bags is venturing up the Inca Trail right now, and its owner took this photo for me. Posted by me Filed in sewing […]

Leave a Reply

