obligatory best wishes post

1 January 2009

orchard

:: booty after raiding the inlaws’ orchard

I forgot to wish you a happy christmas or whatever you celebrate that time of year.

I forgot new year as well.

Anyway, thanks for reading in 2008 and welcome to 2009.  May it bring you what you wish for.

If you want some holiday reading and/or pretty pictures to look at and/or links to click on, there is a thoughtful piece on wabi sabi on Emma’s blog.

I am not making new years resolutions this year, but I do hope that, having organised my yarn stash with photos and catalogue and designated storage areas as one of my last acts of 2008, I can keep it that way in 2009.  Behold!

stash

4 Responses to “obligatory best wishes post”

  1. Sally said

    wow, that’s an organised stash! Happy New Year, Miss A.

  2. Michelle said

    Happy new year, Alison. Hope it’s a good one for you!

  3. Jen said

    Happy new year Ali. Thanks for organising letter swap this year.
    I’m very impressed with your stash organisation. I was thinking of doing a similar thing with my extensive and not deliberate collection of serving platters, bowls and suchlike. I know it sounds weird, but I just don’t know what’s lurking in that big cupboard!

    Looking forward to reading more machenmachen in 2009

  4. LynS said

    Dear Ali

    A little belatedly, best wishes for 2009. Thank you for the reference to wabi sabi – it has sent me on a bit of a google-search. I think it is the perfect aesthetic term to apply to the bahay kubo where I spent Christmas. However, I suspect it can be achieved in modern western consumerist life only through great artifice – does this undermine the essence of the concept?

    I’m looking forward to another year of enjoying the machen/machen blog.

Leave a Reply

