wasp bag makers: i need your help!

11 March 2009

cookietote

I get a real buzz* out of seeing all the different versions of my wasp bag pattern around the intertubes and flickr.  It’s such a great feeling to have produced something that people can use, modify, and make their own, and there are so many talented sewers and colour-choosers out there.

But sometimes I get a bit worried when people mention that they found the pattern hard to follow.  I’d like to revise the pattern to make it better and easier.  Which is where you come in.

I’d like to invite everyone who’s made a version of the wasp bag to help contribute to a better wasp bag pattern.  And I am offering two bribes: one is a chance to win the bag you see above, and the other is a place in the (soon to be constructed) wasp bag gallery on this site, including a picture of your bag and a link to your blog, if you have one.

If you’d like to take part, here are the questions I would like your feedback on:

  1. How easy to follow were the instructions for the wasp bag?
  2. If you found  the instructions difficult, which parts in particular puzzled you?  How did you solve the problem?
  3. What changes would you make to make it an easier project?
  4. Did you modify the pattern?  if so, what did you do and why?

You can leave your answers in the comments below, or email them to machenmachen@(removebeforesending).gmail.com.  If you’d like to be in the gallery, please email a photo and a link to your blog as well.

I will pick one winner at random for the bag, and the competition closes on 11 April 2009.

*yes, bad pun.  Well spotted.

10 Responses to “wasp bag makers: i need your help!”

  1. wildmary said

    Hi,
    last week I made my second Wasp Bag and found it again very easy to do !
    The pattern is simple and instructions are easy to follow. But it’s not my first bag and I’m not a beginner in sewing so maybe it’s because I know in advance what to do at some steps… I must admit I didn’t read all instructions🙂
    This time I’ll modify the straps because they are too long and “flexible” for the usage I’ll have : a shopping bag for the market, I need short and strength straps.
    I’ll post it on Flickr when that will be done🙂
    Here are the photos of the first I did : I enlarged it to do a beach bag for my mother : http://www.flickr.com/photos/wildmary/tags/waspbag/

  2. wildmary said

    I take the occasion to thank you for this pattern : I really like it, it’s my favorite🙂

  3. Alissa said

    Hmm… you know – I’ve made this bag a number of times and it was even one of the very first things I sewed. I was definitely a beginner back then and I never had a hard time with the pattern at all! I know that doesn’t help you with what you’re looking for, but I thought I’d put in my two cents!

  4. Sally said

    I had trouble with the pocket the first time – I seem to remember I wrote a note to myself when I figured it out the second time I made it… remind me to look for it and see what I wrote!

  5. […] The good news is I am giving this bag away – go here for the details. […]

  6. Ambimom said

    This is still my most favorite purse tutorial. I’ve made three bags and contemplating a fourth for my next project.

    It would be nice if you included instructions for adding a zipper pocket on the interior lining. I added one in mine and find it incredibly useful.

    I also made the handles longer so it could be cross body instad of shoulder length, which is what I prefer.

    As for the handle pattern, I think it would be just as easy to make the handles out of the same fabric. Your method of folding and stitching is fine, but you could also make them as interfaced tube. Sew one end and turn.

    This “tube” method [with an 1/8 inch seam allowance) might be used for the key strap because I found it difficult to sew through all the folded layers. I made mine out of the outer fabric, but it just as easily could be out of the lining.

    Instead of talking about A4 paper for printing the patter, which is not common here in the US, I’d substitute “print at actual size.”

  7. Kathy said

    The pattern is fab, a basic bag that I can add my own little ideas to it. Hope you can give us a few more ideas, maybe, a clutch bag next time.

  8. shastababy said

    I’ve made two so far-I don’t think the directions were hard to understand at all. It’s fairly quick to make and the instructions take you step by step. I like that you reminded us to take a break too, sometimes I will keep at something until I can’t do anymore!
    I just made myself one this morning and posted pics on my blog (http://shastababy.wordpress.com)
    I made a couple changes, mostly the pockets,I like outside pockets and zip pockets inside. And I tied the straps instead of buttons (couldn’t find any that worked).

  9. Christina said

    I made the wasp bag last week and enjoyed making it, the instructions were easy to follow and I only started sewing in February. The only difficulty I came across was the pocket, I ended up with the raw edges showing but that might have been because I didn’t read the instructions carefully enough.
    Thank you for a great tutorial and I will definately make it again.

  10. Jen V said

    I’m looking forward to making this bag. Did your re-vamp come to fruition yet?

Leave a Reply

