yoga mat bag

30 January 2010

So as you might have guessed by the last few entries, my sewing mojo seems to be back.  I’d really gone off it for a while, getting the sewing machine out of the cupboard was too much like hard work, and I seemed to have too many clothes (but still nothing to wear).

Making two rounds of cushions reminded me how much I like sewing, at least when it’s going well. And I didn’t want to stop. So I made a bag to carry my yoga mat.

:: yoga mat bag ::

I used the dimensions from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing, but modified her pattern to include lining, and a pleated pocket (flat pockets never seem to hold enough stuff)

:: pocket detail ::

The outer fabric is a remnant of hand-printed hemp from cloth fabric in Surry Hills, the lining is Joelle Hoverson’s cake|rock|beach.

:: opening detail ::

The strap is a little shorter because my piece of fabric wasn’t long enough, but it’s just the right size for me.

:: strap ::

And with such a smart bag for my mat, there’s simply no excuse to not go to yoga now, right?

3 Responses to “yoga mat bag”

  1. that has to be the most gorgeous yoga mat bag I have seen – and aren’t cloth fabrics wonderful?

  2. Emma said

    No excuse not to go to yoga indeed! The bag looks great.

Leave a Reply

