bumps

23 May 2010

There have been a lot of bumps on the way to the end of this project.  Some were ‘life bumps’, which I won’t write about here (because the kindness and sympathy of friends is hard enough to bear, the kindness and sympathy of strangers is even harder).

Some were ‘motivation bumps’ (perhaps dips or valleys would be a better description). Some were completely unexpected bumps – like an unexplained sprain to my wrist when I was trying to finish this project as an entry in the Canberra Show. And the bumps you see on the garment – those were the worst of all, the slowest and most frustrating stitch I’ve ever encountered.

But now it’s finished. And I am so pleased with it.

I think this is the best job I have ever done on a knitted object. Much of the pleasure in this project for me came from little details.  A new cast-on that I learnt from Kelly‘s mum, that gave a beautiful clean edge to the ribbing. Finally mastering mattress stitch to the point where the seams are completely invisible.  Learning to pick up stitches neatly and cleanly, so that the button band sits perfectly.  Getting the button placement just right.

The minute I put it on, it felt warm and cosy and snug and right. The only fault I can find is that it’s just a touch short in the body – the waist sits a bit above my actual waist.

Pattern:  Surface, by Norah Gaughan for Knitty.

Yarn: Jo Sharp Classic DK, in Ink.

Buttons: From the button jar. I think these were bought to replace buttons on my school blazer when I was about 13.

Ravelry link.

12 Responses to “bumps”

  1. bellsknits said

    hooray! I just love this so much. A great end to a bit of a drawn out project. Love it!

  2. 2paw said

    That is gorgeous, I have always thought it was a bit OTT but yours makes me see it in a totally different light. All your hard work really paid off!!!

  3. redfear said

    It’s absolutely beautiful! I particularly like your color choice – it looks stunning.

  4. Rebecca said

    Looks great! I am knitting a Norah pattern and I think it’s going to be too short in the waist for me too… I really like the colour you have chosen.

  5. Michelle said

    Alison, it looks spectacular! I really love it, and I think it suits you! Bet you’re glad to have finished though – can’t imagine having done all those bobbles.

  6. Emma said

    It looks brilliant on you, it suits you so well.

    You have my sympathies on the trials and tribulations of knitting bobbles. Surface wouldn’t be Surface without them, but my goodness they’re patience-trying, aren’t they?

  7. Olivia said

    It looks fantastic on you. The colour is understated enough to carry off the wild bumps.

  8. LynS said

    Alison – this is so beautiful. Love it. I want one, but would never have the patience to knit it.

  9. alison said

    Thank you all for the lovely comments, everyone

  10. Crosby Romero said

    You have my sympathies on the trials and tribulations of knitting bobbles. Surface wouldn’t be Surface without them, but my goodness they’re patience-trying, aren’t they?
    +1

  11. georgeina said

    gorgeous bumps, if you know what i mean. well done. georgeina

  12. miss j said

    love it miss! Hope it is keeping you snuggly and warm. Tiz freezing here.

Leave a Reply

