eucalyptus

28 August 2010

A little something I finished in late July. The colours remind me of the floor of a eucalypt forest on a wet day.

:: eucalyptus ::

:: Yarn :: Noro Iro and New Lanark DK

A top-down improvisation, using Noro yarn and Jared Flood’s trick for creating stripes. I’d have liked it to be a little longer, but I ran out of yarn. It is incredibly simple – no shaping at all beyond the raglan sleeves, no finish around the neckline, a 2-2 rib around the bottom and the sleeve edges.

I used New Lanark’s natural black for the sleeve and bottom edgings. I really want to say that I liked this yarn, because I like the idea of it, a natural undyed yarn produced by artisans in small batches using traditional methods. But… it was like knitting with carpet – harsh, tangly, inflexible. I can easily imagine that constructing a whole garment in it would chafe the skin off your fingers.

4 Responses to “eucalyptus”

  1. Hashi said

    love love love 🙂

  2. Emma said

    I really like the effect you get from striping Noro, it’s like magic! I really like the contrast rib, but sad that it’s a bit rough. Shame the good idea in theory doesn’t quite work out in practice.

  3. missj said

    Just lovely. I want to see the photo shoot where you are wearing it in the forest with a pointy beanie and earflaps, knee high boots, a wafty skirt and a wan expression in front of your yurt and pixie children dresssed as fairies in the background!!

  4. Patricia said

    Is there a pattern for this sweater? If so, where can I find it?
    stjt

Leave a Reply

