green is beautiful

16 June 2011

Here is where it started, and now it is finished.

Green is not an easy colour for me. Most shades of green drain the life out of my face and make me look ill and tired. About the only shade that works is this bright olive shade, the colour of a new leaf. When I started this project,  it was election day, a long winter was grinding on, I had come to the end of a long project at work – green represented the idea that winter might end, that things might change, that there might be new things to work on.

And winter did end, and things changed in unexpected ways, and there are always, always, new things to work on.

I wanted this jumper to be a bit loose, a bit long, for dagging about the house with a pair of jeans. If I was making it again I would keep the sleeves narrower, and maybe not make it quite so long. And I do kind of wish I’d made it with a little more of a I-borrowed-this-from-my-boyfriend look, maybe with a v neck and no fancy edges.

The yarn was a disappointment. It was a bit splitty, a bit fluffy, and impossible to join or shape without the join showing. The neckline looks quite messy as a result.

More pictures and details follow.

 

:: details ::

:: yarn :: Touch Yarns merino 8-ply

:: pattern :: fitted sweater from modern classics, Louisa Harding

:: ravelty link :: green is beautiful

:: inspired by :: Jeanne Moreau in  Jules et Jim, Margaret Harding’s and Bernadette Watts’Green is Beautiful

Leave a Reply

